This is the historic churches of cuero.
First Baptist Church 408 N. Gonzales St. Cuero, Texas 77954
Since 1878, First Baptist Church has been telling people that God wants to reveal His love to them in the person of Jesus Christ. We are also linked to another congregation, the original “Cuero Baptist Church” which was formed in 1848. That church was formed by Baptists who settled in the Upper Cuero Creek Settlement. In time, that church took the name Concrete Baptist Church and was located in Concrete, Texas. After the Concrete Church building was destroyed by fire, the remaining members joined with FBCC.
302 N. McLeod
In 1876 the county seat for DeWitt County was moved from Clinton to Cuero. On October 13, 1878, the First Presbyterian Church was chartered with nineteen members. Earlier Presbyterian churches had been organized in DeWitt County as early as 1849 in Concrete and also in Clinton and Thomaston. They then merged with the Cuero church to make up the congregation of First Presbyterian Church. The merger was approved and the union was consummated on May 5, 1883, with a total of 166 members. This building, built in 1969-1970, replaced an earlier brick building, which was constructed in 1916 on this site.
301 E Courthouse
This church was established on February 12, 1876, with a nucleus of eight members. In 1885 the first church was erected at this site. By 1929 the congregation had grown considerably, so to make more room, this entire building was raised and a basement was added to house Sunday schools and meeting rooms. The twin towers were added at that time and the building was stuccoed. The church was built in the shape of the Cross and contains many beautiful leaded art glass windows. This historical and unique building will soon be removed and a new building will take its place. Sadly, this building has been heavily damaged by termites. Please visit their church office if you would like more information.
401 N Esplanade
Rev. Charlie Sumners
On Esplanade stands the beautiful Grace Episcopal Church, the oldest church in Cuero. Organized in 1874, the first chapel was moved from Port Lavaca to Cuero. This building, constructed in 1889, features Gothic architecture, walnut interior, and stained glass windows making this outstanding historical structure a favorite with Texas architectural students.
403 E. Sarah St.
Lifeway Church is located in the former Cuero High School.
This historic structure has been beautifully renovated and retrofitted to accommodate the worship and social needs of the members of this church family.
400 N Esplanade
The storms of Indianola brought many Lutherans to Cuero. The "Evangelical Lutheran St. Mark's Gemeinde" was organized in July of 1886. Years later this new building was built which is one of the best examples of Spanish Mission architecture in this area. The belfry copper ship's bell was salvaged from a ship that burned and sank in Indianola harbor. Later it was brought to Cuero and hung in the new church tower.
204 N. McLeod
St. Michaels established as a Catholic church in 1875. Several structures served the people of the parish throughout the years, some with very interesting histories of their own. Finally, after outgrowing these other structures, the present church building was dedicated in March of 1931. The beautiful church was built by architect F.B. Gaensen in the Romanesque style. It is faced with tapestry brick and the trimmings and belfry are of tampered stone. There are many exquisite stained glass windows throughout the sanctuary. St. Michael's Church is an important and interesting part of the history of Dewitt County and a fine example of the great architecture of Cuero.